Mission & Partners

The National Astronomy Consortium (NAC) is a program led by the National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO) and Associated Universities Inc., (AUI) in partnership with the National Society of Black Physicists (NSBP), and a number of minority and majority universities to increase the numbers of students from underrepresented and underserved groups and those otherwise overlooked by the traditional academic pipeline into STEM or STEM-related careers.

NAC LeadsLocationFaculty / Contact
National Radio Astronomy Observatory Charlottesville, VA
National Society of Black Physicists Washington, DC Dr. Willie Rockward
National Radio Astronomy Observatory Charlottesville, VA Tierra Candelaria/Jessica Utley, ODI Admin
National Radio Astronomy Observatory Charlottesville, VA Jessica Utley, ODI Admin
NAC Advisory Board Laura Chomiuk (UMich), Anja Fourie (NRAO), Faye Giles (NRAO), Jessica Harris (UVA), Ralf Kotulla (UW-Madison), Eric Hooper (UW-Madison), Moiya McTier (Columbia University), Tim Paglione (CUNY), Michael Strauss (Princeton),  Lou Strolger (STScI), Don Walter (SCSU)
2020 NAC SitesLocationSite Lead
Michigan State University East Lansing, Michigan
NRAO Central Development Laboratory (CDL) Charlottesville, Virginia
NRAO Headquarters Charlottesville, Virginia
NRAO Domenici Science Operations Center (DSOC) Socorro, New Mexico Anna Kapinska
Princeton University Princeton, New Jersey
Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI) Baltimore, Maryland
University of Wisconsin - Madison Madison, Wisconsin
Partner InstitutionLocationLeadAdditional Contact
Agnes Scott College Decatur, GA Chris De Pree Amy Lovell
Benedict College Columbia, SC Fouzi Arramash
CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College New York, NY Barry McKernan
CUNY College of Staten Island Staten Island, NY Emily Rice
CUNY Hunter College New York, NY Kelle Cruz
CUNY Lehman College New York, NY Matt O' Dowd
CUNY NYC College of Technology New York, NY Viviana Acquaviva
CUNY Queensborough Community College Bayside, NY Jillian Bellovary
CUNY York College Jamaica, NY Tim Paglione
Dillard University New Orleans, LA Abdalla Darwish
Goddard Space Flight Center Greenbelt, MD Padi Boyd
Hampton University Hampton, VA
Harvard University Cambridge, MA John Johnson
Howard University Washington, DC Marcus Alfred
Michigan State University Paul Gueye
NC A&T Greensboro, NC Abdellah Ahmidouch
Norfolk State University Norfolk, VA Wendy Hinton
Ohio State University Columbus, OH Paul Martini Todd Thompson
PING Program Greenbank, WV Tim Spuck
Prairie View A&M University Prarie View, TX Premkumar Saganti
Princeton University Princeton, NJ Michael Strauss Jeremy Goodman, Jenny Greene, Jill Knapp
Rutgers University New Brunswick, NJ Andrew Baker, Alyson Brooks
South Carolina State University Orangeburg, SC Donald Walters
Space Telescope Science Institute Baltimore, MD Lou Strolger Sheryl Bruff, Lisa Frattare
St. Mary's College of Maryland St. Mary's City, MD
Texas Christian University Houston, TX Peter Frinchaboy
Texas Southern University Houston, TX Donald Vrinceanu
Tougaloo College Jackson, MS Santanu Banarjee
University of District of Columbia Washington, DC H. Seyoum
University of Maryland - GRAD-MAP College Park, MD
University of Maryland College Park, MD Stuart Vogel 
University of Virginia Charlottesville, VA Aaron Evans Nitya Kallivayalil
University of Wisconsin Madison, WI Eric Hooper  Eric Wilcots, Maya Holtzman
West Virginia University Morgantown, WV Maura McLaughlin

D.J. Pisano,